Day 3 – Lisa’s confession

I’ve gotten through three days with minimal martyrdom but I think I need to come clean today.  Cooking was not something that ever attracted me much though I do really like to eat.  My mom fed me well as a kid.  In college and young adulthood I survived on beer and bar food and then I had these three children.  It turns out you need to feed them daily.  Who knew.

My husband works longer and later days than I do so passing the cooking buck to him wasn’t too likely.  I’m not independently wealthy so a personal chef was off the table as well.  The feeding of my family fell to me and it has been one of my more stressful rides.  My husband is allergic (severely) to all fish, seafood, and tree nuts.  My oldest son will eat most anything but after a semester abroad in Japan he prefers fish and Japanese style cooking.  My daughter mostly likes meat and chicken.  She’ll eat a few vegetable but it’s not really her thing.  My little one (a boy who is taller than I am) is mostly a vegetarian.  He will periodically eat a little bit of chicken but never any red meat and not much fish.  If you go back and read this paragraph, I believe you will understand my stress.  When my oldest rallied his siblings for a chicken strike that’s really when I just gave up and started ordering in.

Did I mention that I got a master’s and doctoral degree, a life coaching certificate, and started my own business since getting pregnant with my first?  Are you feeling sorry for me yet?  If so, please private message me for my address so that you can send me dinners. Between the food preferences and the lack of time it is really hard for me to motivate to cook. How sad is it that after I had a minor surgery a few years ago my girlfriends brought me dinners for two weeks and I was deliriously happy?

Anyway, 2015 and this project seemed like a good time to stop feeling sorry for myself and to start finding some joy and fun for dinner.  So tonight when my husband said he wasn’t hungry and my daughter met her friends for dinner, my boys and I had toast, canned soup, and frozen dinners.  No stress, a little more sodium than we might need but still we ate at home and had some fun in doing so.

The martyr mama is moving forward!

One thought on “Day 3 – Lisa’s confession

Leave a Reply

