Meatballs and pie (Pie!)

Roasted butternut pie

Roasted butternut pie

Meatballs, au gratin potatoes, and collards

Meatballs, au gratin potatoes, and collards

I made most of it from leftovers, which makes me feel economical, and therefore virtuous. The pie, even, is made out of the leftovers. I had so many butternuts, they were beginning to rot, so I roasted three of them, froze two of the three, and turned the third into pie. I have an amazing recipe for sweet potato pie that turns out to also be rich and delicious when made with roasted squash that I don’t even bother to measure for this custard. I usually make a traditional pie crust for it, but this one is a modified graham cracker crust, made out of handmade, glazed gingerbread from the clearance table at Atkin’s Farm. Do not make the same mistake I did, and forget to put a pan underneath your springform pan, because the butter will seep out of this crust and burn to the bottom of the oven, causing the smoke alarms to go off for 40-50 minutes, or until the custard is set.

Dinner is au gratin potatoes I made last night, and collards I harvested yesterday, with meatballs I (extremely carefully) browned in butter. Beef and lamb, salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

