The Absentee Birthday Dinner (2015 post #2) Bananas Foster and Crock pot Lamb

DSCN9969 DSCN9971 DSCN9973

I had a dilemma. I had to be away from home for work all day. This isn’t just an ordinary day, it just happens to be my husband’s birthday.  My husband is not a huge fan of birthdays. He doesn’t like a fuss, or even gifts, but he does like a delicious dinner and a homemade dessert. His favorite dessert is pineapple upside down cake, his Mother’s recipe. She thoughtfully sent it to me after we’d been living together for a year. He loves my version of it, and gleefully devours it every year.

Imagine my surprise when he asked for Bananas Foster for dessert! Here I thought I had it all covered, having already purchased the pineapple, cherries, and was ready to make the cake… It was a shock.  I found my Bananas Foster recipe and went for it, but I need to back up. I’m getting ahead of myself.

In addition to being a writer/editor and amateur chef, I am also a horse trainer. Today was a work day for me to train 3 horses offsite for the day so I had to do some quick thinking. We had some delicious lamb in the freezer. This is lamb we bred and raised here on our farm, and had “processed” in the spring of 2014.  I thawed a package of lamb chops, seasoned them and put them in my trusty slow cooker about 9:30 this morning when I left to go to work. Upon my return they were falling –off – the – bone tender and smelled divine!  I prepared a multi-grain pilaf made from sprouted lentils, brown rice and quinoa along with steamed mixed vegetables for sides.  Paired with a delicious Cabernet Sauvignon, and a delicious birthday dinner is accomplished!

While the pilaf and veg were steaming, I tackled the Bananas Foster. I didn’t have any dark rum in the house for the sauce to flambé the bananas, so I used bourbon.  I melted the butter, added the brown sugar and made the sauce. I cooked the peeled, halved bananas in the sauce, gently spooning it over the bananas. Then I added the liquor and whoosh! Bananas flambé made to order. This was served over vanilla caramel ice cream. My husband never said a word as he was devouring his portion. I, being the sad cook with high blood sugar, could only watch with envy as he inhaled his birthday dessert.

Leave a Reply

