Like P.F. Chang’s, only different

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/eac/81847652/files/2015/01/img_1486.jpgJan. 5 – P.F. Chang’s skillet meal, “Dan Dan Noodles”, around 4:30pm

It’s not much to look at, but I like this meal. It’s mostly noodles and chicken with a mildly spicy sauce. It has a little bit of yellow peppers which I don’t mind, and some bok choy that I try to pick out or eat around any pieces I miss. It’s got that skillet meal convenience of just pouring it in the skillet and stirring occasionally. Although I like it, I find it interesting that this meal-in-a-bag bears little resemblance to the Dan Dan Noodles at an actual P.F. Chang’s, which is my favorite meal there. (Second favorite is Dali Chicken and Garlic Noodles. I’m not a menu explorer. I usually find one or two items I like somewhere and stay loyal to those.)  The real Dan Dan Noodles are spicier and the chicken is ground. Of course, I always take care to order it without the scallions and the garnish of shredded cucumber and sprouts. Once they garnished it with parsley because I wasn’t specific enough about NO GARNISH!, and it was a lot less yummy.

This was an early solo dinner because I had 6:30pm hockey and didn’t want to get by on nothing but a light lunch (three microwave burritos) all day. I’ll probably have a pint of Ben & Jerry’s while I watch tv before bed tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

