Day 6 – Lisa winning!

So that chicken that I took out of the freezer yesterday . . . well I cooked it today!  I found a recipe for “Skinny Orange Shredded Chicken” on the Skinny Kitchen website (www.skinnykitchen.com).  The recipe called for chicken breasts which I thought I had taken out yesterday but it turned out that I had pulled out the thighs.  Oh well, thighs would have to do.  I jotted down the ingredients I needed and in between clients I ran to the store and got what I needed.

Once home I went to pull up the website for the recipe and the website was down!  Can you see why I was starting to think that there is a plot against my cooking?  Maybe my family sabotaged the website so that we’d have to get take out again?  It’s possible. Anyway, I email the website and tell them that they are down and they need to fix that ASAP.  Obviously understanding the importance, they had that website up and running within the hour.

I plopped all ingredients in the slow cooker, took off for an appointment.  I put the kids in charge of green beans, rice, and red grapes (who know if they were washed or not) and by the time I got home we had a delicious meal ready to go. One problem, we ate it all and I didn’t take pictures so I’m kind of worried that you won’t believe I cooked.  Do I need to include the families signed affidavits after I cook a meal?

Here are the ingredients.  Just throw them all into the crockpot and cook on high for 2-3 hours.  If I can do it, so can you.

1 1/4 lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts (unless you are like me and you confuse thighs for breasts)

1 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup frozen orange juice concentrate (I swear they intentionally hid this in the most obscure section of the freezer section at my grocery story)

1/2 cup bbq sauce (I like Sweet Baby Ray’s and so does the Skinny Kitchen lady)

1 1/2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce

2 teaspoons fresh garlic, chopped

1 teaspoon ginger (in a jar but I used real ginger and chopped it up because I’m just so chef like)

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I couldn’t find these in my kitchen so I just used Lowry’s Salt)

By the way, I don’t really believe in measuring so I just eyeballed all of this and they still liked it.

Leave a Reply

