Pork shanks

Cornbread, carrots, and braised pork shank

Cornbread, carrots, and braised pork shank

The pork shank is one of the surprises at the end of the half a pig we bought. I don’t even remember when we bought this one, just that we’re near the end of it. I have a few pieces of belly left in the freezer, and I found a surprise loin roast last month. There there were these shanks: enough for two, maybe three servings, all told. I braised them with tomato, cumin, bay, chili powder, my winter mirepoix of onions, carrots, and celeriac, and lots of garlic, until the meat was falling off the bones. The carrots, I gently braised in butter and water, with lots of fresh ginger root and a bit of cayenne. The cornbread is from Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything,” which is still my go-to for most questions beginning with, “How do I make…?”

Leave a Reply

