Jan 09: Food Shelf and Taco Bell

Today, I made my monthly pilgrimage to our local Food Shelf. Actually, I didn’t go last month because extended family members gave me a gift card for the holiday season and I was able to buy some “luxuries” — for which the GOP will certainly castigate me as a “taker”.

Fuck you.

Here are some interesting parts of the story.

The group of three that came in before me was made of recent immigrants who would not follow (Western) directions and took tons of foods that they were not “allowed” to have.

I was determined not to be the “problem child”. And I succeeded.

Because it is Friday and the food shelf closes on the weekend (Saturday and Sunday), I was encouraged to take as much as is available. And one of our local, amazing bakeries had donated to the bread shelf.

Afterwards…a friend stopped by with food from Taco Bell. Tacos and burritos. So that was dinner.

2 thoughts on “Jan 09: Food Shelf and Taco Bell

Leave a Reply

