The Musical Fruit

10923263_10205738834500433_2078747225802636249_n

This was my dinner, and I am pretty sure I’m going to regret it tomorrow.  Partially because it means that the dinner I had planned isn’t going to happen (because I used half of it tonight), and partially because two legumes plus red meat and garlic equals disgusting flatulence.  Green beans are legumes, right?  And I have boy children.  They are proud of that stuff, and if they had actually eaten enough of their dinner I would be more worried.

Today didn’t go as planned.  It never does, and I’m okay with that.  We ended up at the beach (again), and then my husband decided this was the time to go to Walmart together.  I hate going to that soul-sucking hellhole just as much as the next person, but I feel that as an American consumer and mother of 4 small children who isn’t rich that it cannot always be avoided.

Anyway, we had to decide based on the traffic patterns around Honolulu which one we would venture to, and this one had a parking garage.  I was raised in a town with no stoplights or high school -this is a big deal.  We spent two hours navigating through the zombified gaits of other adventurers and made it out alive, but because everything big is not on our side of the island (again, not complaining here), it took awhile.

Luckily, I already had been cooking baked beans since ten.  If I have a moment to do it, I will prepare dinner in the afternoon.  I have two crock pots and am in the market for a third.  So I just fried some steak in my trusty cast iron pan, added minced garlic and butter and sliced it up.  I find this is an acceptable way to split one steak between lots of people.  Then frozen green beans and viola!  Easy dinner.

Tomorrow I have to make chicken because it will go bad if I don’t use it.  Same for beets and potatoes.  I still probably won’t, but that’s okay.  As long as I don’t have to go to Walmart again for a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

