Another sacred meal (by Flying Spaghetti Monster standards)

CPK kunk pao spaghetti

 

Jan. 9 – Kung pao spaghetti take-out from California Pizza kitchen

In a recent post I mentioned that I’m not the type of person who likes to get something different every time from the restaurants I go to.  I usually settle in on one or two favorite meals per restaurant and only occasionally vary from those. At California Pizza Kitchen, my most frequent selection is the kung pao spaghetti. It’s spaghetti in some kind of spicy sauce, and there’s peanuts. You can see the spicy peppers I separate out, not because I don’t like the spiciness they add, but those peppers are too hot to eat straight up. Unmodified, the dish includes green onions, so I order without those. It can come with chicken, which I occasionally get, or shrimp, which I never do. I usually just have it without the added protein. (Hey, peanuts are protein, right?) It’s a bit of a crap-shoot, because the final result isn’t very consistent depending on who’s making it, so it can be disappointing. Tonight was good, though.

It was a semi-family meal. My wife and one daughter were out so they picked up food for all, but we didn’t all sit down to eat at the same time. I ate as soon as the food arrived because I was hungry and had hockey coming up, and most everyone else was eating by the time I finished, but it didn’t have that family meal feeling.

In other news, our daughters had their follow-up appointment at the dentist today, and the one who spat on the dentist and told her to shut up a few days ago was much more cooperative today and even allowed her teeth to be cleaned. Also, I had a goal and an assist at pick-up, using borrowed gloves because left mine on top of the dryer at home.

Leave a Reply

