Baked chicken and venison hash

Baked chicken thigh, venison hash, carrots, cabbage, and turnips

Baked chicken thigh, venison hash, carrots, cabbage, and turnips

Baked chicken thighs, done the way we like ’em, with lots of garlic powder, baked til the skins get a little crispy (or ideally, more than a little). The venison hash is something I made this morning for breakfast. When I made that stuffed loin on Thursday, I over seasoned the sausage (sorry, guys!), but I thought it would be delicious in a potato hash. Here’s how I made this hash, which is more or less what I’d do with any suitable leftover meat, or chopped bacon cooked up for the purpose of making hash of it.

Here’s how I made venison hash:

Boil the potatoes whole in their jackets, which we will also hash and eat. The proportions for this batch were about two pounds of potatoes, and close to a pound of leftover, already cooked meat. The pro-tip I’ve gleaned this week from chef-testants is to start from cold water and bring it up with the ingredients already in it to get more flavor into the water (such as for stocks and soups), but to keep the flavor in the food item and not leach so much of it into the water, put the food into already boiling water (as for pasta and potatoes).

After the potatoes were boiled, I diced them. I sliced the loin into small pieces and chopped up the sausage. Diced a couple onions and minced a few cloves of garlic. Because I’m a mise en place man. Sauteed the onion in some bacon fat in my largest iron skillet. (I save drippings. I was thinking of this today while cleaning the Pyrex casserole dish in which I’d baked the chicken, that if I’d been smart, I would have made gravy from the fond, and that if I were customarily that smart, I would never have to scrub a pan again. I wondered if the dishwashers in French restaurants would agree.) I salt as I go, starting with the translucent onions, doing so generously for the potatoes. Added the potatoes, got them browning with a brief toss and a few tablespoons of butter, then the garlic, and then the meat, just til it was warm. Voila: it’s hash.

I’d put a fried egg on top of that, if it were just me, maybe serve it with some greens if I had them, and I might yet tomorrow morning, but Kevin likes his eggs scrambled, so on weekends I scramble four eggs and grate a little Cheddar over it at the end. I’d made a lot of hash, so some of it was invited to dinner, along with a freshly baked chicken thigh, and the rest of the vegetable leftovers that needed to be eaten. Some carrots with ginger and cayenne that Kevin finds too spicy and I think are just perfect. Mushy, over braised and under seasoned cabbage with onions from the freezer, and perfectly nice turnips braised in curried lamb stock.

Leave a Reply

