Day 12 – Lisa capitulates

Yesterday my oldest went back to school.  Even though he has been in college for over three years, I still feel sad and lonely every time he leaves.  Yesterday was no exception.  One of the few ways that he still lets me mother him is through food.  I can make his favorite dinner or take him out to his favorite restaurant and it’s how I can nurture him and love him up without making him too uncomfortable.  Sending children off into the world is not for the faint of heart.  The first few days that he’s gone are always tough for me.  I walk around with a lump in my throat and a pit in my stomach and the world just feels a bit off.

His siblings seem to feel the same way.  They are always sad to see their big brother go and the house just feels different.  Tonight I had planned on making a new chicken dish and had even purchased all of the ingredients by 9 this morning.  Then my kids came home from school and requested one of their favorite comfort foods, Urban BBQ, a local fast food restaurant.  Well how could I turn those sad faces down?

The BBQ served it’s purpose.  My kids were happy, we found some comfort, and we all felt just a bit better.

Leave a Reply

