Jan 13: Making a dinner I didn’t eat

I think we’ve already established that I ❤ my crockpot. Make a big batch that will last for days. That’s the food shelf way!

So today it was Moroccan Chicken with Apricots, Olives and Almonds. As usual, I didn’t follow the recipe and improvised my own…

I started the base at 6 a.m. with a healthy amount of Pino Grigio wine (gift from a friend for the haters who think I’m not living “poor” enough) – maybe two cups. Also two cups of chicken bullion. Spices like cumin, coriander, ginger, cinnamon, a bay leaf, garlic powder (I was out of fresh garlic), dried parsley. A great hint I found was to always double the amount of spices when using a crockpot. I added about 12-15 dried apricot pieces and a medium onion cut in quarters, and 10 small potatoes cut in half. And I put it on high for a couple of hours to let the broth absorb the flavors.

At 9am, I added a platter of semi-frozen chicken thighs from my cooperative buying program and turned the crockpot to low.

At 1pm, I added canned food shelf items, having drained all the liquid from them:

  • 1 can of chickpeas / garbanzo beans
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of black olives
  • 1 can of carrots

The smell was amazing! And it was ready by 5pm — but I had to run to a meeting. So it will make great lunches and dinners over the next week. And the almonds? You sprinkle them on the top as a garnish.

 

Leave a Reply

