Jan 14 – Out and about and eating healthy from the grocery deli

Today was the second Wednesday of the month. That means I don’t have dinner at home. I take a solo trip to “town” and then attend a Board of Directors meeting for my adaptive riding therapy program. Since town is a 40 minute drive away, I usually have a laundry list of errands, including a grocery list of items to accomplish before the 6 pm meeting time. Today was no different.

I had banking, farm and feed store, and the grocery store on my list of places to go. I had planned in the back of my mind to fit in a stop at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant for some pho. The food is delicious there, and the portions huge, so I could have dinner tonight, and also lunch tomorrow all for the price of a Starbuck’s coffee. Alas, it was not to be.

I spent way too long dreaming over horse gear and spending my Christmas gift card for Big R and ended up rushing through the grocery, only to find I had 20 minutes to get to the meeting location. I had also forgotten to buy a few items on my list. I cannot eat fast food, so I headed for the Safeway deli.

One chicken caesar wrap in a spinach tortilla and a Laughing Cow cheese container later, I had my dinner. I had already purchased no-sugar added apple turnovers, and that was dessert. I ate in my car and got to the office in time to clean my teeth and set up the meeting.

Hubby “made do” with the rest of the pork chile verde leftovers with rice. Enjoy your dinner! V.

Leave a Reply

