Shrimp and grits

Shrimp gravy

Shrimp gravy

For tonight’s dinner I made shrimp in gravy, with grits, and some parsnips and carrots. The gravy is really the main thing. I make a stock from the shrimp shells and legs, and use it to make the gravy. I made the roux darker than I ever have for this one and I think it makes the gravy better. Since I never follow the same procedure twice in making shrimp with gravy, it’s hard to say.

I also made a pie, orange meringue, but it didn’t set. Everything else about it was good, the crust, the flavor of the filling, even the meringue browned, but it was super runny. I’ll have to try that kind of pie again sometime.

One thought on “Shrimp and grits

  1. Pingback: Jan 17: Pulling it outta my ass… | The 365 Dinner Project

Leave a Reply

