Lucky turnips

Shrimp gravy, polenta, and turnips

Shrimp gravy, polenta, and turnips

I would have eaten this three times today but restrained myself to two. Now it seems I have leftover shrimp gravy and polenta for tomorrow’s breakfast. Tonight we had this with a mix of white and yellow turnips that I braised in venison stock and olive oil.

Sometimes when I braise vegetables, I forget and leave them on the stove too long, so the water cooks away and the vegetables begin to caramelize. If I’m lucky, I catch them right there and then add some more liquid, deglaze the pan, and keep going. If I’m not lucky, I don’t notice them and they commence to burn. It doesn’t matter what kind of fat you use, or what liquid. The secret to flavorful, tender turnips is to be lucky, or patient, at this phase and let them brown but not burn. Salt and generous quantities of pepper.

Leave a Reply

