Jan 18 – Garbanzo Bean Theme

With my high blood sugar, I am careful to eat foods that are low on the glycemic index. One of those foods is garbanzo beans, a.k.a. chick peas. Hummus is a favorite, usually with celery, as crackers are “bad carbs” and I try to avoid them. I decided in my zeal to create something tonight that I was going to make my own hummus. There were two salmon steaks in the fridge, so I created a magical meal for my hubby out of salmon, pasta and veggies, and proceeded to create.

The beans I had were dried so I had to start early by boiling and letting them soak. Then I made the tahini from toasting sesame seeds and processing into a paste with garlic and olive oil. I searched high and low for tahini in stores, but have not been able to find it, so I made it myself. Into the food processer with the tahini to make a paste, then the softened garbanzo beans with salt, cumin, pepper and garlic powder to make my first ever batch of hummus. It turned out a bit dry and bland (as I was afraid of over-seasoning it), so each individual serving will get some lemon juice and seasonings mixed in. Not bad for a first effort.

I had reserved some of the chick peas to eat with my salmon. I pulled out a partially full jar of pickled green beans and a jar of beets from our summer garden harvest. I arranged those on my plate with a little sliced goat cheese, added the garbanzos and put the salmon on top. It was quite delicious, but was more along the lines of a summer meal. Not the comfort food I usually crave in the mid-winter months. Still it was tasty, and my garbanzo bean theme will continue tomorrow. Enjoy your dinner! V.

Leave a Reply

