Jan 21 – Call me H.R. Stuff‘N’Stuff

Call it coincidence, Fate or Providence. It was some combination or all of the above that led me to save a recipe I saw online and that led me to another recipe down a sort of culinary rabbit-hole that produced tonight’s delightful dinner.

Stuffing stuff into stuff, and stuffing that stuff into our faces was the order of the evening. I am sitting down to write this while the sadness of the last bite still lingers.  I am so very sorry I didn’t make more stuffed stuff, but I know if I did I would be well and truly stuffed, but enough about that.

8 boneless and skinless chicken thighs, spinach, tomato and cheese were the basic ingredients.  The spinach was fresh, chopped and cooked, the tomato diced, and the cheeses grated. I also mixed some breadcrumbs and Cajun seasonings together.  Placed the spinach /cheese mixture onto the piece of chicken then closed and secured it with a toothpick. Turned over and brushed with vegetable oil and topped with the breadcrumbs and the last of the cheese. Baked 350 for 40 minutes and wow!

Mushrooms were vegetarian in the absence of cream cheese. I used hummus with added spices, cayenne and parsley with a little mayo to make it creamy.  I removed the stems and filled the mushrooms with the hummus then dipped into breadcrumbs. Topped with a drizzle of melted butter then baked for 30 minutes at 350 until browned on top.  Hubby had some Spanish rice on the side of his plate. No bad carbs for me (enough with the breadcrumbs) so I just had the mushrooms and chicken.

jan20 365 dinner size
 It sure is fun to create something new and different. I never follow a recipe exactly. I am an intuitive cook, and love to tweak the recipe my way just a bit. Enjoy your dinner! V.
Leave a Reply

