January 23: Homemade Turkey Soup and Paleo Crackers

Yes, it's all Whole 30 complaint, and the cracker recipe is in here...

Yes, it’s all Whole 30 complaint, and the cracker recipe is in here…

I am sick. Day 2 now, but unlike yesterday, was able to get out of bed to do some cooking. Broke the pressure cooker out again, and made a bang-up turkey stock in about an hour that probably would have taken almost 24 the old way. (I am starting to regret the time of my life that was spent without a pressure cooker.)

But I was actually pretty hungry by this evening. (Unlike this morning, when a single piece of bacon made me want to puke for hours.) So I needed some crackers to go with it for a little more substance. Paleo crackers are soooooo easy. I pay very little attention to details when I cook, but I’ve got these crackers pretty well dialed. All measurements are my best guess…

2(ish) Cups of Almond Flour
1/4 (ish) Cup Tapioca Starch
Onion Powder, Garlic Power, Salt, Pepper – to taste.
2 eggs
1/3 (ish) Cup of melted Ghee

Mush everything together. It should be like slightly damp Play-Doh. Flatten little balls into circular shaped crackers on a cookie sheet. They don’t rise or anything, so they’ll come out shaped exactly how you put them on the sheet.

Bake at 400 until the edges start to brown. They do go very quickly from browned edges to burnt, so keep en eye on them. But don’t take them out to early, either. I’m guessing they’re in the oven 5 – 8 minutes or so. Your oven may vary.

Good stuff. I promise. And they turn a bowl of soup into a meal.

Leave a Reply

