Jan 25 – Sauce and Pasta

Freezer-diving hubby came up with some grass-fed beef and a gallon Ziploc full of stewed tomatoes from our summer tomato harvest. He requested I make a meat sauce and put it over rice or pasta. I defrosted the tomatoes, which already has celery and onion in them. I browned the ground beef with some diced onion, garlic powder, salt and pepper. When the meat was ¾ of the way cooked I drained it and added it to the sauce to simmer for 25 minutes or so. I boiled the pasta while that was cooking and we had a tasty one-bowl meal of spaghetti with meat sauce.

I also made quinoa with spicy peppers and spinach for my dinner, but then I read the spaghetti package that said the pasta was 60% lower on the glycemic index than regular pasta (which I haven’t eaten in months), so I decided to try it and test my blood to see if there are any spikes . By the way, the package lied. I had a huge blood sugar spike and I’m sorry I ate it now. I’m going to stick with quinoa in the future and I’m saving the quinoa for tomorrow’s meal. Enjoy your dinner! V.

365 dinner quinoaSauce 365 dinner

Leave a Reply

