March 31 – Pork Chile Colorado

After my thrown together meal the previous night I redeemed myself tonight by making a meal (almost) completely from scratch. It took several hours and was totally worth it! I Neglected to photograph the plate, but I got a couple in -progress pics.

I had some dried red chiles in my pantry and a couple days ago I put them into a jar with water to reconstitute them thinking I would use them for a marinade or something. Then I had the bright idea for tonight’s dinner. I pulled out my trusty food processor and blended the rehydrated chiles, 7or 8 whole tomatillos from a can, some pickled banana peppers, garlic, onion and whole tomato and seasonings to make a thick sauce. I tasted it and it wasn’t quite spicy enough so I added more garlic powder, some cumino, black and ceyanne pepper and some tapatio hot pepper sauce to give it the right amount of heat. I put it in the fridge still thinking I would use it on chicken. Then I realized I had some pork  and decided on Mexican Chile Colorado for dinner.

When I was ready to cook I put the sauce in a pot and diluted it with chicken broth (approx 3 cans). I used 2.5 pounds of boneless pork rib meat chopped into bite sized pieces I dredged the pieces in flour seasoned with dark chile powder, salt and pepper. Then I browned the meat in hot oil and put it in the sauce. I brought it to a boil, then put it on simmer for about 1.5 hours until fork tender. Served with rice, beans, and corn tortillas, it was an authentic and delicious meal. Enjoy your dinner! V

.365 dinner pork march 31

Leave a Reply

