Soup, Salad, and Garlic Bread

Soup is one of my favorite things, especially during winter time.  Usually I make a huge pot of soup, freeze half, and enjoy left overs for about a week. But tonight I was a bit lazy and heated up some canned soup.  I love the Amy’s brand Alphabet soup because it is the ultimate comfort food and makes me feel like a kid again.  I paired this with an arugula salad, which I spiced up with shredded rosemary Asiago cheese and a lemon chive dressing (also from Amy’s).  I also made some homemade garlic bread using a freshly baked baguette, some butter, and garlic powder.  It was an awesome meal.  For desert, I had a Cherry Orchard Yoplait yogurt, my favorite flavor.  I am also thinking about making some hot apple cider when I come back from walking my dog, Jersey.

For me, this meal is a perfect illustration of how I have become an unwitting vegetarian.  The meat at the local market is extraordinarily expense (a pound of chicken is over $5) and I refuse to buy it.  To be honest, after such a nice meal I really don’t miss having meat. I will order a meat dish when going out to dinner, but when I cook at home it is almost always vegetarian.

Leave a comment