January 6: My Death Row Meal

Look, there were veggies, so it's all good.

Look, there were veggies, so it’s all good.

Okay, calling it my “Death Row Meal” is a wee little but dramatic, but it probably would be what I’d want for my last supper. Judy Fu’s Snappy Dragon. Veggies with prawns (which are actually Whole 30 compliant) and are one of my favorite things in the world. Of course, the insanely good hand cut and pan friend noodles, pot stickers, green onion pancake and egg rolls are…..  well……  are things I won’t be having for another 30 days.

The good news is that for the next 30 days, my posts should actually be interesting, and

You have never had a potsticker this good. I promise. (Unless I've made them for you from scratch.  Or the same Chinese woman who taught me to make them, hers are even better.)

You have never had a potsticker this good. I promise. (Unless I’ve made them for you from scratch. Or the same Chinese woman who taught me to make them, hers are even better.)

will probably contain recipes (and no small amount of bragging.) Tomorrow, we start a Whole 30 Challenge with our gym. I think we have about 50 people doing it this time. Long story short: No Grains, No sweeteners of any sort, No Legumes, No Dairy, No Alcohol. For 30 days. I can do anything for 30 days. The truth is, I usually eat fairly close to this anyway. I generally aim for about 85% compliance, or so, ish. I know – from both medical tests and lived experience – that my body pretty much hates all grains and legumes, so giving that up isn’t hard. I don’t drink much (which is why it nails me when I do.) Dairy, I love. And my body doesn’t mind it, so I’m always a bit bitter about giving that up, but it’s kinda my job to be head cheerleader. (My business card actually says Chief Executive Cheerleader.)

But sugar…… Um……. I take back what I said about my last meal. It would probably just be all the sugar. Mostly in ice-cream form.

Anyway, tonight was the last free meal before The Whole 30. And Judy Fu’s is 3 blocks from where my daughter is training to be unreasonably strong. So there we went, and it was gooooood.

 

2 thoughts on “January 6: My Death Row Meal

Leave a comment